Just one day/ Just one year/ Just one night by Gayle Forman

17623975

It’s amusing and slightly funny too, given that I don’t read such kind of books. Such meaning novellas that talk of ‘love, heartbreak, travel, identity, and the “accidents” of fate.’ But yes, I read this one and its sequel and the e-book epilogue as well. This is a YA work of fiction. Only it doesn’t so much sound fictitious. Replace Paris with any other city of the world, what Allyson & Willem experienced has essentially happened with many of us. I am not saying I travelled with some stranger bloke to an unknown city but yes, I’ve spoken and shared my heart with strangers in metropolis.

12842134I’ve always had a complaint with myself that I never read YA books while growing up. I was into more serious, classical reading back then. Now, when I read these books, they seem heart-warmingly right and acute of the growing years. I read this over the night, and the last word touched down the future of the characters in my mind. I read with my heart. So yes, it affects me deeply when people I grow familiar with in books suffer misery and pain and heartbreak. This is my first Gayle Forman book and I’m so impressed with her writing. I’ve always appreciated YA writers because we need more of them in today’s deconstructed society, this de-structured world which simply ignores/assaults/forgets children and Young Adults.

22021611This review be taken as a review for all the wonderful experiences and memories we have all got in our lives. There are all kinds of debates about love and longing. Its just personal. Individual- I say. We need these walks and travels and conversations with strangers. We really do. It takes a lifetime to build up memories. What is a mere ‘day’ then? Before starting the book, I had this faint idea that the plot sounded like the Before Sunrise/Before Sunset movies. I’ve had so many conversations with my own self while reading ‘Just one day.’ Isn’t that the mark of a good book? It lets you have your voice speak up. I am thoroughly connected with both Lulu and Willem. And because I LOVE Shakespeare they will stay with me for a long time. 🙂

Leave a comment